Former Razorback Jones selected to Cotton Bowl’s Hall of Fame for 2020

| allHOGS •

FAYETTEVILLE — Arkansas native Jerry Jones has been named to the Cotton Bowl Hall of Fame Class of 2020 and will be inducted during an enshrinement ceremony this spring at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas.

Jones is the owner of the Dallas Cowboys, which owns AT&T Stadium which has been the home of the traditional bowl game since 2009.

Along with Jones, this year’s honorees in the 12th Hall of Fame Class include: Kansas State quarterback Jonathan Beasley, Notre Dame split end Thom Gatewood, Ole Miss halfback Dexter McCluster, Texas defensive end Cory Redding, Boston College linebacker Bill Romanowski, and Kansas State head coach Bill Snyder.

Jones was one of the seniors named as captains of Arkansas’ national championship team in 1964.

The Razorbacks rallied in the game’s waning minutes of the 1965 Cotton Bowl to drive 80 yards for the winning touchdown that secured a 10-7 victory over Nebraska.

The induction ceremony for The Class of 2020 will be held on the west concourse of AT&T Stadium in Arlington next spring. The exact date is still to be finalized. The hour-long ceremony is free and open to the public.

“Those extraordinary individuals whose unique talents formed the pageantry and prestige of one of college football’s most historic postseason bowl games are showcased in the Cotton Bowl Hall of Fame,” said Carl R. Ice, chairman of the Cotton Bowl Athletic Association. “The Cotton Bowl Hall of Fame allows fans to revisit the rich tradition of outstanding college football played annually here in North Texas.”

A judging committee comprised of media representatives and athletic administrators voted from a ballot consisting of 60 nominees that included former players, coaches, bowl administrators and others who have made special contributions to the Classic.

Information from a press release provided by Razorback Sports Communications is included in this story.